Gentle Reminder

Wisdom that I can not take credit for, well actually anything I write here I can not take credit for except for seeking it out. So with that being said as I was enjoying a cup of coffee during my quiet time before my girls get up for school, God reminded me that my struggle to just say “no” with food is nothing new since it started in the beginning of time with the first woman created (Eve). One of the first interactions in the bible between food and woman was with Eve when she ate of the tree she was commanded not  to by her Father. Another important fact was that food was a tool the serpent used to tempt eve and make her question what she new to be truth.Sly little guy and wise enough to know what would get Eve off track and into a whole new world of good and evil. It is important that we think before we eat and have daily preparation of our food choices so that we can continue in our healthy habits so that we to are not easily distracted or tempted. Preparation for me is knowing the beginning of the week what I will be feeding my family and make preparation then. For example this week I cut of three heads of romaine, six mixed peppers (Sweet), red and Spanish onion, six grilled chicken breasts cut up for salads, since its winter I have three bags of frozen berries, mango, peaches, and I cut up apples and bag them. I get the fruit out nightly to allow it to thaw so I can have it for breakfast. I always have raw almonds on hand with some dried fruit for when I am teaching classes and need a healthy protein, good fats snack. I also boil eggs and keep them in the fridge for a quick healthy snack. I also cook Quinoa and store it in the fridge for the week, I like it with pretty much anything. These are just some ideas and gives me peace of mind when I am prepared. Please feel free to post your ideas or what helps you. Remember God deeply cares for us and wants the best for us so we need to be mindful of what that is.

Leave a Reply

