The Creator

“God, help me to know myself and what my body needs because You are my Creator and know all things I need. Help me to know if I am using food to fill a spiritual void or do I really need the physical nourishment.” This has been my prayer since the blinders were removed and I turned to the Lord when it comes to His will and not my own when it comes to eating. This of course needs to apply to ALL aspects of my life because in Proverbs 3: 5-7 says that I should trust in the Lord with all my heart, and lean not on my own understanding; in all my ways I need to acknowledge Him so that He will direct my steps. It is not good for me to be wise in my own eyes; and I need to fear the Lord and depart from evil. It will be health to my flesh and strength to my bones if I do these things. God’s word is a light to our path. If I hear and do what it says then I will be in the light and things will be good for me, but if I am a hearer only and do not apply what I am being told, then my path is darkness and I will get lost or even worse hurt. God says in ALL my ways acknowledge Him, but for a long time I didn’t think how I ate or what I ate mattered to God. As I would continue to seek direction from the One who Created me and knows my beginning and end and even the end of those that He has given me in this life including my husband And children, I seek Him for counsel on how to be a good wife, how to parent my children, how to serve Him, how to work and how to deal with uncomfortable or unfortunate circumstances, then why would I not look to Him for how or what I should eat? The bible has a lot to say about food including how we should eat and if He said it, I believe it:-) You know that song “God said it, I believe it, it’s all that faith demands” My girls sing it all the time and it constantly is playing in my head. I have come to realize I do not need all the answers or understand all things, that’s why I serve the creator of the universe who knows all things so I don’t have to. Pride came before the fall. So if I depart from those things such as sugary processed carbohydrates, then I know it will be health to my flesh and strength to my bones. I know this because God says it and that is all faith demands, sorry had to throw that in there again. Now I am not saying that in “moderation” or with self-control which is a fruit of the spirit, that it is evil to eat those things. What I am saying is that for me it is a weakness that stumbles me and really makes me ill so even though it is lawful for me, it is not helpful. Doesn’t mean those things don’t taste good because on the contrary I will keep eating and become a glutton and gluttony is a sin when practiced on a daily basis which I practiced for 15 years. You can’t tell a drug addict who has been sober “Hey it’s ok if you do it just this once, what is once going to hurt?” Well that was what I said at the age of fifteen. It was just once I was going to try binging and purging. I can eat those things if I eat with purpose to have self-control, so again it is acknowledging God when I eat because I am free to eat what I want, i just need to have pure motives to not return to those destructive habits if I choose to eat something that may be yummy but not necessarily helpful. It’s ok to have comfort foods, like peanut butter and fluff on a spoon:-). I just need to have self-control. Where it says to fear the Lord and depart from evil, if you do not know God or His character He has perfect love for us and died for us so we could live eternally with Him and not pay the consequences for our sin. As a parent I understand God’s word and His instruction that as I want to protect my children and guide them to do the right thing and make good choices otherwise there are consequences to the bad decisions that they make when they are warned to not do something or do something and they do not obey. We choose blessings or cursings each day by how we live our life. The bible is full of God’s promises and also wisdom and instruction on how to live and also tells us the consequences and warns us when we do not obey and the blessings of when we do obey. So it is with my health. If I eat poorly then I will have poor health due to my own choices. So is the opposite with If I eat  healthy and nourish my body with the food that is intended, then I will have better health to my flesh and strength to my bones. Of course there are unwanted health issues that are out of our control, but it is our responsibility to make right decisions with what we can control.
 
One thought on “The Creator

  1. Pingback: The Dailey Grind

Leave a Reply

