Does God really understand ?

This is a question I asked God because I never read about anyone in the bible who struggled with bulimia or an eating disorder. So how could the bible help me if no one ever went through the struggle I was battling? When you question God and His word, then be prepared to hear and receive all that He has for you and wants to show you. God lead me to the beginning with Adam and Eve and creation. If you have heard the story where they disobeyed God, but never really had it interrupted like I have, then let me shed a little light as God did for me by His Spirit. Genesis 2:16″ and the Lord God commanded the man saying “Of every tree of the garden you may freely eat; but of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat of it you shall surely die.” In chapter 3 of Genesis the serpent made Eve see the tree that she was not supposed to eat of as something that was good for food, pleasant to the eyes and a tree desirable to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate. Now after this happened there was a consequence for Adam and Eve’s disobedience because they were warned not to eat of that specific tree, but they were able to freely eat of all the other trees. Now what this said to me is that God has given us many things to us to eat that are yummy or look good in appearance and be desirable to eat, but essentially are not helpful for us and could cause us harm or even death. God as our loving Father warns us against those things that may harm us to protect us, not to keep us from things that we may look at as pleasurable, because He knows best and we need to know what His best is for us and then choose to obey. We may not always want to, but need to is the difference.  

God also revealed to me that Daniel had to purpose in his heart to not defile himself with the portion of the King’s delicacies and he knew what he needed to eat and it wasn’t at the king’s table. I needed to ask God what I need to purpose in my heart to not defile myself with when it came to my food choices and those things that stumble me on a continual basis. I asked God and continue to do so what I should be eating for my mind and body and also to get to know my body and it’s needs. Ask, listen, and apply to my life. For a long time I had to turn from those food choices that would lead me into a binge or purge because I was weak and not strong enough to do in moderation. These food choices were not food that was natural or simple, but totally the opposite and I had no control over it. Now I am not saying that Adam, Eve, and Daniel had an eating disorder, but Adam and Eve had eaten what they were commanded not to and they were made to leave the garden, there home because of disobedience, and Daniel Purposed in his heart to do what he knew was correct in God’s eyes and so God blessed him and had favor upon him with the king. Another powerful truth is in Hebrews 12: 16-17, “Esau who for one morsel of food sold his birthright. for you know that afterward, when he wanted to inherit the blessing he was rejected, for he found no place for repentance, though he sought it diligently with tears.” This scripture spoke so personally to me as far as what was I willing to do for food and the destruction I had allowed in my life. Was I willing to die for food and the pleasure of it, or was I willing to be obedient to what God was calling me to do no matter what it would cost me and the fears I had of my image and how I looked to others? As God continued to give me truths that corrected the way I viewed food and my responsibility of what was required of me personally, not how others eat or their convictions, but what I needed to change. There are many other scriptures that I have come across along the way in searching for healing and change that have transformed my faulty way of thinking and living that I have applied to how I live today and I continue to ask for wisdom, knowledge and understanding on how I can apply those areas to my life personally on a daily basis. Changing my wrong choices into correct choices one day at a time and not having false expectations that I will be perfect and not mess up along the way. I learn from my faults and grow stronger through them as I recognize where I am weak and what I need to work harder on working out. God has called me to not destroy His work for the sake of food and I am continually working out that within me. I now eat by faith knowing that all food is lawful for me, but also knowing that all foods are not helpful and I need to purpose to eat those things that I know are. Not perfect or restricting, just knowing what may stumble me and then choosing to deny myself of those foods and drink so I do not return to what once had me bound. All foods are lawful for me, but I refuse to be brought under the power of any! I know where my freedom lives and that is in Jesus Christ. Eating how God desires me to eat is helpful, but does not save me as far as eternity goes. Jesus already paid the price so I do not have to. I do have a responsibility to make proper choices that are helpful to my mind, body, and spirit that will nourish and bring life rather than death or destruction and I need to be watchful and mindful of all I do. I Corinthians 6: 12″All things are lawful for me, but all things are not helpful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any.” Always learning what is helpful and ready to learn and then apply because without the application then my faith is dead and useless. May all I do have value and prosper my health and my soul along with all those around me.

Leave a Reply

